Budapest TOP Attractions
Castle Hill is a 1,5km long hill, overlooking the Danube, located in Budapest’s No1 District. The Old Town occupies the larger part of Castle Hill – it is also referred to as the Buda Castle; the Royal Palace occupies the southern portion.
Buda Royal Palace
The history of the building of the former Royal Palace, on the southern end of Castle Hill, can be traced back to as early as the 13th century. The construction of an impressively large, Gothic style Royal Palace was completed in 1424, during the reign of King Zsigmond ( Holy Roman Emperor Sigismund). Under the rule of King Mátyás I, the Palace was modified in the Renaissance style.
The Neo-Romanesque Fishermen’s Bastion, located behind the Mátyás Church, was erected between 1895 and 1902, on a site where previously the medieval castle walls had stood. The structure, which is a prominent landmark in the city, was designed by Frigyes Schulek. During the Middle-Ages the fish-market was located next to the church, and the Fishermen’s Guild was responsible for defending the adjacent section of the fortification…
The Mátyás Church is one of Budapest’s, and Hungary’s, most important religious monuments. Numerous important historical events have taken place within its walls. Known officially as Buda Castle’s Church of Our Lady Mary, or as Buda Castle’s Coronation Church – it is commonly referred to as the Mátyás church. The exact date of its foundation is not known, but it was probably built in the middle of the 13th century..
Gellért Hill is a very popular beauty spot, the top of which can be accessed via tourist tracks from several sides. This dolomite hill, towering over the Danube between the Elizabeth (Erzsébet) and Liberty (Szabadság) Bridges, offers panoramic views of the Danube Valley and over Pest.
This is one of the capital’s, in fact the nation’s, most imposing buildings. Built between 1884 and 1902, based on Imre Steindl’s design, the Neo-Gothic building is one of the symbols of the capital. With its imposing 96m height, and 268m length, it is one of the definitive buildings along the banks of the Danube. Eighty-eight statues decorate its main façade, which overlooks the Danube.
Erection of the St István Parish Church, generally known as The Basilica, was commenced in 1851, but was not completed until 1905. The Neo-Renaissance style church is the largest in the capital, with a length of 86m, breadth of 55m and a height of 96m.
Eight road bridges and two railway bridges cross the Danube within the precincts of the city. These bridges form an inalienable part of the city-scape. The bridges in the city-centre – the Margaret (Margit), Chain (Lánc), Elizabeth (Erzsébet), and the Liberty (Szabadság) Bridge– are determining elements of the city’s panorama.
Dohány Street Synagogue
The synagogue in Dohány Street is the largest one still functioning in Continental Europe. The use of two towers with onion-shaped domes, as an architectural feature in synagogues, was employed here for the first time in Hungary; it subsequently had a major influence on the evolution of synagogue architecture in the country regions.
It was as a result of the drillings of geologist Vilmos Zsigmondy, over the period 1868-77, that this medicinal water source, with a temperature of 74˚ C, was brought to the surface. The medicinal waters are particularly effective for the treatment of joint and muscle damage, arthritis and neuritis.
Andrássy Avenue provides one of Budapest’s most popular venues for strollers. This radial road, built between 1872 and 1885, indicates the strength of the desire at the time, to develop Budapest into a world-class city.