Franciscan Friary and Church – Buda
The present Franciscan church of Buda has medieval origins, though its original building was situated not on its current place but in a site of the Buda Castle. The present complex is a characteristic monument of the inner city of Budapest on the Buda side. The Baroque façade and the cloister are fine examples of the 18th century revival of the monastic architecture in Buda.
The Franciscans had already owned a church and a friary in the Buda Castle in 1270. That church was consecrated in honour of Saint John the Evangelist. The friars abandoned it definitely in 1541 when Buda fell into the hands of the Turks.
The Franciscan friars returned after the end of the Turkish occupation and they founded a new monastery in Buda, the church of which can be found in the Fõ street in the Water District. After Josef II. dissolved the Premonstratensian order in 1785, the Franciscans were given the Premonstratensians church situated under Margit körút n°23.
The Premonstratensians had erected a small church and a monastery on that place in 1707, the huge Baroque church, the frescos of which were painted by Franz Anton Maulbertsch, that still stands there, was constructed between 1753 and 1756. This is the building from 1785 on became the centre of the Franciscan order in Buda.
Attraction: Franciscan Friary and Church, Buda (Budai Ferences templom)
Location: Buda, II. district
Transport: Tram 4, 6
Address: Budapest, Margit krt. 23