Pauline Monastery and Rock Chapel
The church carved in rock in 1926 as imitation of the cave of Lourdes at the southern slope of Gellért Hill, and the Pauline monastery built in 1934 are important stages in the twentieth-century reorganisation movement of the order.
In spite of the frequent dissolutions, the Paulines started again their activity in 1989 in their monastery at Buda. Their chapel is one of the most interesting ecclesiastical monuments of the capital.
The Pauline order founded by Hungarians had monasteries at Budaszentlõrinc, close to Buda, and at a part of Óbuda called Fehéregyháza. These monasteries were destroyed in the period of the Turkish Occupation, and the returning monks founded their new monastery in Pest at the site of the later university church. Joseph II. dissolved the order in 1786.
In the Modern Age several intents of reorganisation were made, in vain. Between the two World Wars the Paulines of Poland supported this reorganisation effort.
This is the period when finally, the Pauline monastery on the southern slope of the Gellért Hill and the chapel carved in rock in 1926, designed by Károly Lux imitating the cave of Lourdes, were built. This latter was consecrated in honour of Our Lady of the Hungarians. The Romantic style monastery was designed by Károly Weichinger in 1934.
Attraction: Pauline Monastery and Rock Chapel (Pálos kolostor és sziklakápolna)
Location: Buda, XI. district
Transport:tram 47, 49
Address: Budapest, Gellért-hegy
Open: 9-10:30, 12:00-16:00, 18:30-19:30
More about Hungarian monasteries: Hungarian Monastic Route