Ruins of a Franciscan Friary – Budapest
The friary was founded by Béla IV. on the Isle of Hares(former name of the Margaret Island). Out of this medieval monastic complex the façade of the Gothic church and the vestiges of one sidewall can still be seen today.
The stones of the friary that had been destructed during the years of the Turkish occupation were utilized for the construction of the palatine’s villa being built round the year 1796. Later this house became an important literary life centre of the nineteenth-century Budapest.
Attraction: Ruins of a Franciscan Friary (Ferences kolostor)
Location: Margaret Island (Margitsziget), XIII. district
Transport: Tram 4, 6: Margitsziget
Address: Budapest, Margaret Island (Margitsziget)
Hungarian Monastic Cultural Route